In the Crosshairs of Anxiety

Many years ago as a young Christian I was confused by a verse in Scripture.  Philippians 4:6 instructed: “Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God.” Now, that King James Version translation was pretty much in conflict with the ongoing admonitions of my parents to “Now, be careful when you (fill in the blank).”  Later, of course I learned that what the Scripture was actually talking about was worrying and anxiety — responsibilities that God never intended us to have.  Interestingly, now, because I fully trust the Scripture as a faithful guide I find myself being anxious about anxiety.  And sometimes my best efforts at being peaceful and “casting all my cares on Him” (1 Peter 5:7) simply lead to more anxiety at not being able to do so.  Just one of many conundrums I encounter in seeking to be faithful.  Anyway, here is a link to an article by Chris Castaldo that I find useful and I hope you will too.  RMF

Anxiety — Not Good

EKG Monitor

Chris Castaldo

Chris Castaldo

About ronfurg

Former naval officer, federal investigator, forensic scientist, senior executive service member and pastor. In retirement serves as volunteer and life group leader at New Life Christian Church (www.newlife4me.com). Devoted to beautiful wife, kids and grandkids. Looking forward to the time when every knee will bow and every tongue will confess that Jesus Christ is Lord of all and that He is the Way, the Truth, and the Life.
Link | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

