Refugee Resettlement: Balancing Compassion With Discernment

Here is a thoughtful, insightful, and balanced article on the current Syrian refugee situation. The comments and responses by Ms. Weatherly are also instructive. Ms. Weatherly describes herself as: “I am a Christian wife and mother to 7 children, grandmother to 2.  I have been a homeschool teacher to my children for 16 years. I love learning about different countries and cultures, having visited 16 countries and 40 US states. I enjoy volunteering with Bridge Refugee Services, providing advocacy and hospitality to persecuted refugees who have fled their home country to begin a new life in the US. I am excited to do part-time work as a Relocation Consultant for Dwellworks, assisting international transferees who are relocating to Knoxville, Tennessee.  Because of my faith, I want to live my life with purpose and passion, making every moment count.” The blog post appeared at brendaweatherly.wordpress.com.  RMF

All Things New

faina_dinner Refugees from DR Congo enjoy lunch at the Weatherly house one Sunday after church. Photo courtesy of Saul Young, Knoxville News Sentinel.

I have been a volunteer with a refugee resettlement agency in Knoxville, Tennessee since January 2014. My family and I welcome refugees to our city by taking them to get their Social Security cards or medical screenings and I teach ESL one day a week. We have also welcomed refugees into our home for meals from many different countries over the past 22 months. We have done our best to befriend these newcomers to our city so that they will have the best possible chance to be integrated into American culture. I want my children to have a compassionate heart for persecuted peoples and people of all nationalities.

refugee_protest Unrest at a European train station

Over the course of the last few months as the migrant crisis in Europe…

View original post 1,007 more words

About ronfurg

Former naval officer, federal investigator, forensic scientist, senior executive service member and pastor. In retirement serves as volunteer and life group leader at New Life Christian Church (www.newlife4me.com). Devoted to beautiful wife, kids and grandkids. Looking forward to the time when every knee will bow and every tongue will confess that Jesus Christ is Lord of all and that He is the Way, the Truth, and the Life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

